A mother in #BrusselsLockdown

Brussels Lockdown

When the tube, all shopping centres, most restaurants, bars, shops, museums have been closed for 4 days.
When all cultural events have been cancelled.
When people stay at home, avoid public places and don’t talk about anything else.
When all schools have been shut down for 2 days.
When they are supposed to reopen tomorrow.

I am not a paranoid person. I am not.
I am not easily moved by tragic events, even when they happen in a close country.
Maybe I seriously lack empathy. Maybe I rationalize too much.
But I can’t help but thinking that terrific, horrendous events happen every day on earth, people live in fear of even more real and direct threats, and it just doesn’t interrupt our morning routine – only when we can connect with them because they happened in a place where people share our interests in fashion, food, art and technology.

What I am trying to say is that I usually am able to take some too much distance towards terrorist attacks. They are part of my reality of western citizen living in the 21st century.
We know there is a risk, we know it is unpredictable and we acknowledge we’d better not think about it because there is nothing we can do to prevent it.

Now, those last few days, it all changed in Brussels.
This level 4 we already know will be maintained for more than a week makes it impossible for us not to think about the threat. Some stay at home, others make a statement of not changing anything in their lives (which is made easier by the absence of the formers and the total lack of public gathering)…
Everyone has his opinion on how we should hide or on the contrary refuse the fear, on what is paranoia or caution, on how it is ridiculous to desert the streets or foolish to jump on a bus. But basically most of Brussels’ inhabitants go to work, get back and stay home.

I have no clear opinion about all this.
I went to the hospital for some tests today, but I took my car. I guess most of us live now with such contradictory thoughts.

But when it comes to our children?
300 police officers detached to ensure their safety tomorrow as they are supposed to get back to school.
Well, Emma won’t.
You can call me paranoid, but I just don’t feel comfortable with the idea that she could be confronted with any kind of danger.
We don’t know whether anything will happen in Brussels. And some kind of fear will certainly remain for a while. At a certain point, we will have to get back to our normal lives.
But regarding Emma, I am not ready. Not just yet.

Plaisirs d'hiver

2 Comments Add yours

  1. The Girl says:

    sad event, but I am sure we will overcome them!

    https://everydayfacts.wordpress.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

