Back to full time working mother

Happy 2015
With 2014 ended my 5 months part-time working.

And it is fair, I mean, one could get used to total freedom one day a week…

One day a week not having to answer to a flow of questions – isn’t it the most tiring thing about being a mother at work and a manager at home (no, no, I actually meant it in this order)?
One day a week not thinking about other people’s (immediate) needs.
One day a week not being late at work/the crรจche/school.
One day a week doing things that make you feel good.

I don’t know yet how I am going to manage the coming months, nor how hard I am gonna miss my nice cups of coffee

But the thing is, I finally learned which were my priorities and, even more importantly, I understood that it is alright not to cope with them all.
That there is nothing wrong with spoiling yourself once in a while (without becoming a complete egocentric lazy princess, of course).
That you cannot be a good mother/partner/sister/daughter/friend – even colleague, if you feel like you need to excel in those roles and it leads you to neglect yourself.
Let’s make it clear, I was no Cinderella until this summer (feel closer to the Queen of Spades than Alice in Wonderland)… but I certainly put too much pressure on myself, like a lot of us do – and you don’t need to be a mother for that.

There is very much to say about being a woman today, and I leave those deep inspired thoughts for another husband-goes-out-yesss-let’s-order-sushis-and-blog Friday evening, but I think we shall at least : 1. know what makes us feel good and 2. make sure we get a bit of it from time to time.

If, like me a few months ago, you are not even sure about point 1., it may be time for you too to take a break.
Anyway… maybe we should add some nice good resolutions to our yearly list?

Good resolutions

Leave a Reply

